Posted by: tgonzales | October 29, 2010

Friday Ramblings and Free Tutorial

I’m a little disappointed in myself, because I don’t have anything new to show you. I’ve been working on another broomstick lace scarf. Since I’m using 2 strands of sock weight yarn it is moving slowly. I have started a granny square lapghan for charity and I’m still crocheting from the Flat Feet fabric that I purchased last weekend on the Yarn Shop Hop. I’m not pleased with the way the striping looks so I think I have another idea on how to make the striping look better, we’ll see?

Then I started thinking that when I started my blog I thought of all the cool things that I could show you and talk about. I love to inspire people and I love to be inspired by others. I thought that maybe I could do some tutorials and give you some free patterns. Then, I thought about the butterfly that I placed over my boo boo on my recycled scarf and thought maybe you would like to know how I make my butterflies. So, here’s one of my free patterns and a little tutorial.

Crochet Circle Cup Covers with Beads or Buttons (for Butterflies Leave off the Beads or Buttons)

Ch 4, sl st in first ch to form a loop, ch 3.

Round 1: 11 dc in loop, sl st in top of ch 3. (12 dc including ch3)

Round 2: ch 3, 1 dc in same space as sl st, 2 dc in each st

around, sl st in top of ch 3. (24 dc)

Round 3: repeat round 2. (48 dc)

Round 4: ch 3,1 dcin same sp as sl st, 1 dc in each of next 2 sts,

*2 dc in next st, 1 dc in each of next 2 sts*, continue from * to *,

sl st in top of ch 3. (64 dc)

Round 5: ch 3, 1 dc in each st all around, sl st in top of ch 3. (64 dc)

Continue increasing every other row if you need a bigger circle.

On the last row, make *sc, ch 3 pull up a bead or buttons, ch 3,

sk 2 dc, sc in next dc*, all around.

*I usually string the beads on before I start the circle, but it’s

up to the individual. Some people prefer to pick up the beads

as they crochet.

Depending on how big you want to make your butterfly; use as many rounds as you prefer. I sometimes use 3 and sometimes more depending on the thread or yarn size. Start with a crocheted circle and a piece of thread or yarn.

Fold the circle in half,

placing doubled thread around the middle of folded circle and form a loop.

Bring the other ends of the thread through the loop and pull up tight.

When trimming off ends of thread leave enough to make the thread look like an antennae. I hope you have fun making circles, cup covers, and butterflies. Well, it’s the weekend again and I want to wish each and every one of you a safe and wonderful one. No big plans for my weekend, but you never know! Do you have anything planned?


Responses

  1. Sounds like you are definitely busy behind the scenes Tamara. Love the picture at the top of your post and am thankful for the free tutorial you shared. I love me some butterflies and will definitely have to make one or more for myself. *Ü*

    Have a great weekend.

    • Jeanne,

      You make me Smile:) and I’m glad that you like butterflies too. Thank you for liking the doily. If I would’ve been thinking I could’ve put a butterfly on my flower garden doily. There’s always tomorrow.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. let me tell you. i am having the most busy friday or my entire life.
    1. woke up at 12; 2. my friend erika came to my door like 4 minutes later and MADE ME go to the gym with her; 3. i went to the gym for around an hour – BAH; 4. i layed on my bed, surfing the net for about an hour and a half to two hours – too long; 5. watched “Hannah and Her Sisters” while having easy mac and crocheting; 6. commenting on your blogs.
    i know my life’s sooo exciting, stop stop stop.

    • Oh Joshua, you make me laugh. HAHAHAHAHAHAH! The life of a drama student in New York. The end!

      Love, Your Momma

  3. Thanks for sharing your tutorial. Don’t worry about not having anything “new” to show us. Sometimes it comes in waves of ideas! Then you will have SO much to share you won’t be able to contain it all!

    • Merri,

      Thank you for the vote of confidence. I do feel like I’m stuck in a rut, but I think I just need a weekend without anything to do and maybe this weekend will be my weekend for an inspiration; you never know! Thanks for stopping by and commenting too. I always love to hear from you.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Tamara, we all need a day like Joshua had. A blah, blah, blah, sort of day—-without the gym, please. Take a break and you’ll be full of new ideas, trust me on this one. Take care.

    • Molly,

      You are so right. I’ve had one of those days today and oh my gosh I have found some unfinished projects and have sorted and organized a few things. I feel totally refreshed. No gym required. Have a great weekend.

      Love,
      Tamara

  5. i must send you pictures of the things that my friends and i are making, eh? just an idea that i keep forgetting to do anything about.

    • Joshua,

      Yes do send pictures. I can’t wait to see what you are doing.

      Love you,
      Momma


Leave a Reply

Categories

