Posted by: tgonzales | September 22, 2010

Another Granny Square Project

When I first decided to create my own blog and sell some of my creations in an Etsy Shop. I thought about the things that I had already made and wondered if I could let some of these things go. I want to tell you that there’s a piece of me in each thing that I make and I’m sure all of you feel the same way. I wondered what I could make that I wouldn’t mind letting go of. So I decided I would make some washcloths and dishcloths to sell.

 

At first I made them with hdcs and edged them in a contrasting color. I finished about a dozen and got bored with them, and then decided to try to use some of the smaller pieces of yarns left over and start on granny squares. I love to make granny squares as you probably have already guessed.

 

I was so excited to see the different colors and how the granny squares looked all stacked up while trying to convince myself that sure I can sell these and be alright. When all of a sudden my mind started wandering off to a new thought process of designing and I thought I would like to try some brown edging around each one. Then I wondered what they would look like all sewn together.

Well that was it, I fell in love with the granny squares all sewn together and now I don’t think I can part with it.

And I still have more bits and pieces of yarns that I will add to MY granny square washcloth afghan, heaven knows I have enough in my stash. Now I’m off to see what I do have in my closet of crocheted things that I can part with! Ha! Ha! Tell me about the things that you like to make and do any of you sell your things?


Responses

  1. Good Morning Tamara! YES, I LOVE granny squares! I’ve done several (lost count) afghans with them!… What I’d like to try to make is a sweater with granny squares, if I can find a pattern I like for one!… No I don’t sell my items. If an item isn’t made for me, then it’s most likely for a birthday or Christmas gift! ~tina

    • Good Morning Tina,

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I love to hear all about the things that you are doing and thank you for sharing about the gifts and making me feel that I’m not the only one that doesn’t like to part with my things; except for gifts.:) Have a beautiful Wednesday! Hugs, Tamara

  2. Your granny squares are beautiful! I can certainly understand why you wouldn’t want to part with it. I make some things for me, but mostly they are for gifts, either for my daughters or for special friends.

    I’ve been told I should sell some of the things I make, which is a huge compliment. *Ü* But, I don’t design what I make, I follow patterns. And a lot of the patterns I use say I can make gifts with the project, but I am not allowed to sell them. So, even if I were inclined to sell, keeping track of what’s sellable and what’s not would be cumbersome. So, I just don’t sell anything. Plus, I also worry that what I do for fun wouldn’t be quite so much fun if I were doing it for money. Does that make sense?

    • Jeanne,

      Thank you for stopping by and I totally understand what you said about the fun being taken out of it when you start selling your things.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. So, are you using no. 3 cotton for those grannies? Your throw is lovely as ever! Glad you kept them!

  4. Morning my friend ! I am just as bad about Granny Squares as you are, I am always using my little bits of yarn and making a square and then sticking it back to be used on “some project”. I too have thought about things of mine that I could sell but then I worry that the people that buy them won’t be happy with their purchase. So I’m just a scaredy cat and just give my items away instead of selling them. One of these days maybe I’ll get up the courage to venture out into my own Etsy shop, but not yet ! Your afghan is very pretty, but everything you make is, you just have that special talent. I will chat with you later and I’ll be waiting to see what else you have created. Tack care.

    • Molly,

      It’s so nice to hear from you my friend. I feel the same way about you and your talent. You have been blessed with the art of creating things of beauty and you are a beautiful person and very giving.

      Love,
      Tamara

  5. You are a big hot mess, but we love you and love all the wonderful things that you create.

    • Thanks Donna. It’s so nice to hear from you again. Where have you been? I know school probably has been busy, huh? I miss you! Love you too.

  6. Well, as some people know, I enjoy making hats. And when I complete almost every one – except for ones that are made specifically for certain people, usually girls – I put them on my head and decide that I do not want to part with them. Oh, the trials of my life.

    • Also, I really like this afghan.

      • Joshua,

        You make me laugh so much!!!! I love you too.

        Momma

    • You have so many trials don’t you?:)

  7. HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Just love your story of creating granny squares to sell …. NOT sell!!! You make me laugh!! 😀

    • Kat,

      I know, I laugh at myself sometimes:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

