Posted by: tgonzales | September 2, 2010

Tamara Lost in New York City and Found at the Lion Brand Yarn Store

As most of you already know my husband and I made a trip to New York to take my son Joshua to his new home. After we had visited the New York Conservatory for the Dramatic Arts, Joshua insisted that we find the Lion Brand Yarn Store. Joshua has a friend that lives in New York and had checked out the store and told him how cool it was. So I called my friends where I work and asked them to look up the address to the Lion Brand Yarn Store and they did and my brother-in-law typed it into his GPS system and off we went in the traffic of New York City. (by the way my brother-in-law and sister-in-law are the best!) We found the store and everyone told me to go ahead and jump out and go into the store and they would stay with the car. Of course I asked Joshua to go with me, since I knew he would like to see what the store was like. Besides that who would take my picture in front of the store? Make sure you check out the handles of the doors.

From the front window to the displays I could tell that this was a very crochet friendly store.


This was one of the neatest displays that I’ve ever seen. What a great way to promote new yarns and to see them. The pictures don’t show the cups that were under each cone of yarn but there were crochet hooks in each one. Like the wall says it’s a sampling wall. You just pull the yarn from the cone and start crocheting and testing the feel of each piece.


These were some of the coolest afghans I’ve ever seen and every one of them was crochet. I know I could hardly believe it too.


Even the young lady behind the counter was crocheting. I asked her what she was making and she said that she was working on some pieces for the front window display for the month of September. I also asked her if she knitted and she said yes, but her first love was crochet and she loves to crochet. I just loved hearing that and loved the store. I ended up with some really pretty 100 Per Cent Superwash Merino Wool for my stash and……


3 skeins of baby alpaca yarn that I gave to Joshua so he can make a hat out of them. If I ever get back to New York and have more time to spend I think I would like to sit a while in the Lion Brand Yarn Store and just crochet with some New Yorkers!


Responses

  1. Ooohhh…. I too am sooo happy to hear there was so much CROCHETING going on in the Lion Brand Store. That is very uplifting to me.
    Uh, Tamara, I hope they stopped the car before you JUMPED OUT. LOL!! 😉

  2. I bet you felt like you were in the Willie Wonka Chocolate Factory but with yarn instead! Tee Hee Parking is at a premium in downtown New York City isn’t it? Did you get to go to Times Square while there or see a Broadway Show? I bet you wondered how Joshua was going to make it in such a big city didn’t you? Take it from someone who knows from first hand experience, the cabbies in New York do drive like crazy people! Tell Joshua to send home pics of his crochet so you can post it on your blog.

    Hugs XX
    Barbara

  3. Kat, Yes they did stop the car and yes Barbara parking in New York City is at a premium. Someone was looking out for us that one special day that we were there, because we had a front row parking space at each of the 3 places we needed to park. 🙂 I’ll make sure Joshua sends me pictures of the things that he makes so that I can keep you all posted on what he’s doing.

  4. Tamara, I am SO jealous! I live in New York state and have never had the opportunity to visit the Lion Brand yarn store in the city….Even though I am jealous, I am also happy for you:)

    Hope all is well with your son as he begins his journey into adulthood.

    • Merri,

      I’m not surprised that you haven’t been to the Lion Brand Store. I’ve lived in Wichita, Kansas all my life and there are stores here that I’ve never been in and we don’t even have the amount of traffic that New York City has. If you ever have a chance to go I think you would like it and you should plan on sitting and crocheting with them.

  5. I love Lion Brand Yarn! And so jealous of your trip to the Big Apple!

    • Summer,

      I hate to tell you this but my big trip to New York was very short and I was only there for around 4 hours and I only spent maybe 15 minutes in the Lion Brand Yarn Shop but in those 15 minutes I petted alot of yarn:) Thanks for responding and thank you for being here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

