Posted by: tgonzales | January 28, 2011

My Husband’s Tip, Funny Quotes, and A Little Crochet

Sometimes when I’m crocheting, folding laundry, hand sewing, or whatever I might be doing. I’ll look up to find that my husband is watching me. He will smile and go back to reading the newspaper or whatever he might be doing. One time he said, “Tamara, you are amazing.” I asked him what he was talking about and he said, “just the way you touch the things that you are working on; when you fold clothes you just fold them so fast and then before you put the item in the basket you have to run your hands over the fabric to feel of each piece, like you are enjoying the feel of the fabric. Then when you look at the project that you’re crocheting you study it and then you run your hand over it feeling the softness of the yarn.” He asked, “what are you thinking about?” I told him that sometimes I don’t know exactly what I’m going to make with each skein of yarn, but the yarn talks to me and lets me know what it wants to be. Then he started making up names for me and here are some of them:

The Healer

The Medicine Woman

The Card Reader

The Fortune Teller

The Yarn Reader

The Yarn Whisperer (I think I came up with this one) teehee

Then he had a tip for me when I was making scarves for charity back in December. He said, “I’m not sure if anyone is interested, but “Gray” is the new neutral this winter.” I asked him if he had been reading one of my magazines and he laughed and said, “yes”. He makes me laugh!

He’s so funny; especially when he’s not even trying. For instance he gets words mixed up all the time. He told me not too long ago that there was a chance of participation. I laughed and said, “Do you mean precipitation?” The he asked me “What did I say?” HAHAHAHAHA

Then another time he was reading off some recipes in a newsletter and he said, “I can’t even fatom the idea of a spaghetti taco.” I just about died laughing. Anyway those are a few quotes and a tip about the new neutral from my dear husband.

I managed to get 4 more hats made and now I’m done with all the great nieces and nephews, and made 2 of my niece’s hats just for fun. I also sewed tags in all of them with my name and their names in each one, plus the date.

Shannon’s

Coben’s

or this could be Coben’s?

and here’s Zane’s.

This weekend I plan on delivering a few of these. I hope to have pictures on Monday. Now I’m off to start the granny squares for Crochet a Rainbow. Hope you all have a wonderful weekend.

Responses

  1. Hi Tamara,

    Once again, I’ve been a bit distracted this week and while I’ve read your posts, I’ve not commented. As you’ve been reading my blog, I think you know why. LOL I just loved this post about your husband. He is a very observant man, a rare find, I think. How neat that he picked up something so special to you. I think the Yarn Whisperer is a great name for you! And I like how you kept things light with his misuse of some words. Too funny! It’s obvious you two have a wonderful relationship. You are very blessed!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Hi Jeanne,

      I’m so glad you stopped by and commented. I do appreciate all your kind words. I do understand about the distraction, what cool cards you’re going to make with those butterflies. I can’t wait to see them. I do so love butterflies and the ones you made were especially intricate. Thanks again for commenting.

      Love,
      Tamara

  2. this sort of kind of maybe killed me on some level. made me miss the two of you very very much. but i laughed a lot a lot a lot, so that’s alright.

    ah! i made a cowl with some light blue/white homespun yesterday as well as a red/blue/green beanie with flaps! the first time i’ve ever made a hat with flaps and i think it turned out pretty well. it’s slightly tight on my head, so it needs an owner. hopefully i can find two people to buy these two things off of me. the end.

    • Oh Joshua!

      We miss you too, but I’m so glad that it made you laugh and think about all the funny things that your dad and I say. Mostly you dad!

      I’m really happy that you’re crocheting some more hats and aren’t the earflap hats fun to make? Make sure you take pictures and post them on facebook and good luck with selling them.

      Love you,
      Momma

  3. It sounds like you two are in love. :)

    The neutral tip thrills me since I’m a big fan of grey (usually combined with turquoise or with black and white).

    And I think it’s great that you’re doing Crochet a Rainbow next. So am I.

    • Crochetblogger,

      I think gray looks good with a lot of colors too. I haven’t tried it with turquoise yet, but that’s one of my most favorite colors so I’ll have to try it out.

      I think the Croche a Rainbow project is such a great thing to be involved with.

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. John is so right — you ARE amazing, Tamara. Our personal Yarn Whisperer! I am just about in tears because of the LOVE between you two. And the fact that he, a man, is so sensitive to noticing your inner being. I love all the pics of him — I think the first one is the best ‘cuz he just looks so cute & boyish. I know he is thinking: “Do you really have to take a pic of ME … AGAIN??” Know what else I think? –> John is amazing too!!!

    • Thanks Kat for thinking John and I are amazing. You picked up on his thoughts exactly when I took those pictures and yet he still holds still so that I can take them. He’s pretty cute most of the time. Oh by the way, I think you’re pretty amazing too.

      Love and Hugs to you,
      Tamara

      • Awwww…… hugs ‘n purrrrs from me ‘n Emma. ;-D

  5. Thank Kat, you’re so sweet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers

